Does Buying A Home Require A Lawyer?

Legal assistance is required in the home-buying process in some US states, but not others. States that currently require a real estate attorney to be involved include:

  • Alabama
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Mississippi
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia

As states pass new legislation, this list may change, so check local laws.

Even if a lawyer is not required, the agreements and documentation in a home purchase do involve legal commitments. Engaging a legal representative may be helpful.

You might also like